Independent Publishing and DMCA Abuse, or “How a Scammer Got My Book Blocked with Very Little Effort”

A must read. Writers, beware. Indie author Becca Mills’ awful experience with DMCA abuse and a nasty scammer. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

The Active Voice

Okay, Iโ€™ve got a story. Itโ€™s a sort of scary one. I think independent/self-publishing authors need to know about it, and telling it carefully and correctly is also important for my own situation, so Iโ€™m going to take my time and lay it all out in order.

Pressed for time? You can skip to the bottom for the TL;DR summation.


Becca Mills - Nolander - 333x500 On Friday, February 27, 2015, I noticed that my bookmarkedย Amazon.com link to my first novel,ย  Nolander , was yielding, โ€œWeโ€™re sorry. The Web address you entered is not a functioning page on our site.โ€ I went to my Amazon dashboard and discovered the book had been blocked.

In my spam folder, I discovered an email from Kindle Direct Publishing (KDP), Amazonโ€™s self-publishing arm, informing me that someone had sent in a DMCA notice. In response, Amazon had summarily blocked Nolander from sale.

โ€œDMCAโ€ stands for โ€œDigital Millennium Copyright Act.โ€โ€ฆ

View original post 3,968 more words

Something to say? Be my guest.

