Character-Driven vs Plot-Driven Stories

I am and always have been a character-driven writer, and I love it. It’s like a drug in my system. I have to keep a tight rein on it, though, because in not wanting their story to end I’ll go right past where it should stop. ๐Ÿ™‚ I do hope to at least once try my hand with a plot-driven story.

Linda G. Hill

There are many writers out there who craft their stories based on a โ€œwhat ifโ€ situation. They will come up with a scenario, such as โ€œwhat if a meteor hit the earth?โ€ or โ€œwhat if a guy goes to the store and finds all the cars in the parking lot stacked on top of each other?โ€

These two scenarios may sound very similar, but theyโ€™re not. Yes, both start with the same three words, but the difference is this: the first revolves around a plot. The plot has yet to be populated by humans (assuming there are humans left alive after the meteor hit). The second scenario already has a human in it. Here may be the difference between a plot-driven story and a character-driven one.

For me, populating a story that contains a story first (aforementioned meteor crashing down) is near impossible. I canโ€™t wrap my head around aโ€ฆ

View original post 333 more words

2 thoughts on “Character-Driven vs Plot-Driven Stories

Something to say? Be my guest.

